If you wish to keep some content hidden from the public eye, you could switch on password protection for a given folder - either the primary Internet site folder or another one below it. Whenever this feature is active, a pop-up shall appear each and every time anyone tries to open the folder in question or clicks on a direct link that goes a few levels deeper, so login info will be required for www.domain.com/folder/image.jpg in case you have secured only the domain.com folder. When the details aren't valid, a “403 Forbidden” message will appear and there's no method of getting around this restriction, so you can be certain that no one will be able to access the secured content. The feature could be helpful in a variety of situations - if only a number of people should be able to see certain files, if you are building an Internet site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being completed, and so on.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting

With the password protection tool supplied with every shared website hosting package deal that we provide, you will be able to protect any content that you have inside your account with just a few clicks. Since the tool is an element of our ground breaking Hepsia CP, it features the same uncomplicated interface and you'll not need any special skills to use it. When you go to the Password Protection section, you'll need to choose one of the domains or subdomains that you have within the account and then choose whether the protection should be activated for the primary folder or for a subfolder. Then input the username and the password that you want and you will be all set. A tiny padlock symbol within the File Manager section will tell you that a certain folder is password-protected. In the same way you'll be able to add multiple usernames and passwords for the same folder if you'd like several people to have their own login credentials.